Gear Tip: My Six Must Haves For Every Hunt

Hunting season is finally here, and I’m working fast to get my gear in order and ready to go. Although every hunt is unique and requires something a little different, here are six items I never, ever leave at home:

Pull-Up Rope

It’s important to use a pull up rope, especially if you have to climb your treestand with a bunch of gear. You’d rather be safe than sorry. For years I used pull up ropes made of braided nylon and a couple cheap plastic clips. They work, but they also caused me must frustration they get tangled more times than I care to remember. In order to eliminate this problem on hunts, I’ve been using a retractable pull up rope that is reliable and won’t tangle. It has to be one of the best additions I’ve made to my pack. I’d definitely recommend this for treestand hunters.

Flashlight

A flashlight is handy to have all the time, but especially while hunting. I keep a larger one for blood-trailing and a small one the size of a pen with a green lens for getting settled in my stand in the dark. The green beam doesn’t spook game as often as a white beam.

First Aid Kit

I don’t know why more people don’t have a first aid kit in camp. I think it should be a requirement. It is so easy to get cut while cleaning a deer or hanging ladders and treestands. Along with the kit I like to have a box of rubber gloves and several large bottles of saline solution for treating wounds.

Safety Harness

In my opinion, this is the most important thing to have in the woods if you are hunting out of a treestand. My dad has never let me leave with house without it. And if I did forget it, well, I wasn’t going to be hunting that morning or afternoon.

A Pack and List

It’s important to hunt with a backpack to carry all of your essentials and to make a list of everything ahead of time. Forgetting just one small item–maybe a bow hanger, maybe a flashlight–can make your hunt tough. Customize your pack with the items that are important are a must for you.

Hunting License and Reg Check

Just because you’ve always known the regs in your home state doesn’t mean they can’t change. Read them every season. And if you’re headed out of state, look at that state’s DNR website and make sure you’re familiar with the do’s and the don’ts. 

 

Leave a Reply

